Guidance needed - PMT with a Harshaw/Filtrol NaI(Tl) X'tal

This area is for discussions involving any fusion related radiation metrology issues. Neutrons are the key signature of fusion, but other radiations are of interest to the amateur fusioneer as well.
99tito99

Guidance needed - PMT with a Harshaw/Filtrol NaI(Tl) X'tal

Post by 99tito99 »

Hi Folks: I'm a newbie, just did my intro a few hours ago.

I recently obtained a PMT with a Harshaw/Filtrol NaI(Tl) X’tal, and have some questions and need some guidance. On the Har/Fil label is: Type:8SAF38M/2A-X, Serial: DB-618, NAI(TL). The X’tal has a well running through (ID ~18mm, tube thickness ~0.14mm). The PMT has 14 pins (see picture of PMT and schematic of voltage divider, which it came with it).

I built a simple RC lowpass/Pre-Amp running the audio into my PC sound card. I am using a Ludlum Model 177 as my HV source and running the PMT at 800 volts. I have used both PRA8 and Theremino 4.5 for data acquisition and can’t seem to get good data from PRA. Attached is a spectra run yesterday of a Chinese thoriated lantern mantle.

So:

1) Is there any technical info about this PMT/X’tal combo (I have found none)?
2) Based on the divider schematic is it logical and correct that pin 13 is a focusing electrode?
3) Is this divider the best design? Can it be improved?
4) Is 800 volts appropriate?
5) Thoughts on the spectra

Any input will be most appreciated. Cheers, Mark
Attachments
PMT.jpg
Divider.jpg
Thoriated Lantern Mantle.jpg
Steven Sesselmann

Re: Guidance needed - PMT with a Harshaw/Filtrol NaI(Tl) X'tal

Post by Steven Sesselmann »

Mark,

The divider circuit you attached is not typical, usually resistor R1 between cathode and dynode 1 is around twice the resistance of R2 to R11 or it is a variable resistor. This resistor regulates the potential between the cathode and dynode 1, and therefore the PMT gain.