A start to my first fusion reactor

Current images of fusor efforts, components, etc. Try to continuously update from your name, a current photo using edit function. Title post with your name once only. Change image and text as needed. See first posting for details.
Casey Rojas

A start to my first fusion reactor

Post by Casey Rojas »

Hello everyone! This is my first post on fusor, but i’ve read through a lot of posts about construction and theory on this site. I’m an undergraduate physics major that has been fascinated by fusion, however my university doesn’t have a fusion or plasma laboratory (the departments main focus is particle physics). I’m fortunate enough to work in the particle accelerator laboratory which has a ton of scrap parts and deuterium, everything i need to make a fusor.

I’ve begun collecting pieces for my vacuum chamber, as well as a diffusion pump that is just way too small to be of any use on the accelerator. I also have plenty of roughing pumps to pick from

This is a rough layout of my design so far:
Chamber layout
Chamber layout
To the left will be the line for deuterium gas. The top will be for the high voltage feedthrough (next to it is a bnc feedthrough i may use). To the right has a T for the viewport and TC gauge. At the bottom has a valve that will connect to the diffusion pump.

Ill need to search for some more connectors to finish it up, and try to pull a vacuum on it.

Seeing as I want to achieve fusion and not just a demo fusor, the available high voltage power supplies are bit more limited.

I found this power supply that gets up to 20 kv:
20kv supply
20kv supply
This one may need some repairs

Otherwise, I’ll use this 5 kv one for now which is too low for fusion, but enough to generate plasma:
5kv
5kv
My goal is to eventually get a 40 kv power supply, neutron detector, and integrate it with Arduino Uno and LabView

I’m excited to be part of this community and I’m open to any recommendations and insights you all may have.