Issues with Spellman DF3 Power Supply

This forum is for specialized infomation important to the construction and safe operation of the high voltage electrical supplies and related circuitry needed for fusor operation.
john_auerbach

Issues with Spellman DF3 Power Supply

Post by john_auerbach »

Hey everyone,

My name is John and I am a 4th year undergraduate who inherited much of my current system from a recent graduate named Anže (also a member of the forum) to conduct some ion propulsion experiments in the chamber. At the moment, I am trying to reconstruct the old setup on my own, and everything seems to be working perfectly except our Spellman DF3 power supply; I haven't been able to get it to turn on at all.

I have it fed with a proper 220V, and the interface I have it wired to registers when I turn the CB1 circuit breaker on/off (along with an audible click from the relay), so it's definitely receiving power from the line input and connecting to the interface. However, the front panel display remains off when I press CONTROL POWER ON. In the past, we had similar problems, as Spellman devices often require a connection between two pins on the back of the device to close an interlock, but I have the pins wired to a relay contact and the system will not turn on even when the switch is closed.

I discharged the power supply and checked all the fuses, but couldn't find anything wrong with them. I'll go ahead and check the voltage to the CPU's to see if anything is blown between them, and if that doesn't work I'll go back through the manual (attached below) a bit more and see if I can find anything else. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Attachments
DFFFMAN (1).pdf
(1.2 MiB) Downloaded 183 times
Bob Reite

Re: Issues with Spellman DF3 Power Supply

Post by Bob Reite »

Did you jumper all the pins as described in the manual for "local control"? If you did that, do any of the "status" lights glow? If so which ones?