Hi from Paris

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
Chris IM

Hi from Paris

Post by Chris IM »

Hello ,
My name is Chris, I'm 51 and I live in Paris .

I joined this forum because I'm buiding my own gamma spectrometer since I've been interested in radioactivity , X rays and especially the early history of the radioactivity era.

I studied biology and then X rays (radiotherapy, radioprotection etc) for 1 year and had to stop my studies and start working.
But still I carry on doing DIY projects in my "home lab".
For example I made holograms with the first laser diodes available on the market some 30 years ago with standard b&w photographic plates (not the holographic one)..reproducing Denis Gabor experiment.
An X ray generator with homemade teslacoil and vacuum pomp reproducing Roentgen experiment.
A solar prominence spectro-coronagraph (still in use) to watch the solar prominences with my telescope (diffraction grating , not h alpha filter) reproducing the Jules Janssen experiment.

ANd a few years ago (late 90's) when I bought my 1st geiger counter I started to collect some radioactive ores but mostly radioactive items from everyday life...

And now I want to make my gamma spectrometer to have fun and identify the isotopes in the objects I find (junk market, flea market..etc)

Thanks accepting me .
John Futter

Re: Hi from Paris

Post by John Futter »

Chris
you obviously missed or rode over the rules section when you joined

search it out and correct your username etc
Rich Feldman

Post by Rich Feldman »

Welcome to the forum, Chris. Glad to hear about your amateur science projects, most recently the gamma spectrometer.
I'm sure you will fix your username soon. I had to do that after my own first posts more than 10 years ago.
All models are wrong; some models are useful. -- George Box
Richard Hull