Bad arc in transformer

For Short Term Learning Discussions ONLY. This area is for CURSORY questions and connecting with other users ONLY. ALL technical contributions need to be made in the appropriate forums and NOT HERE. All posts are temporary and will be deleted within weeks or months. You should have already search the extensive FAQs in each of the forums before posting here as your question may already be answered.
James Henry

Bad arc in transformer

Post by James Henry »

Just had a really bad arc in transformer. I have been using this GE dental trans for a couple of months without a problem, only at 20kv and ZAP.
Blew the Diodes and 2 meters, and it shut down the computer, small EMP! I am getting another transformer, once mounted i will pump down for a couple of weeks. I have a question on the Diodes i have read all the FAQS. What is every one's favorite Diode? Please chime in.
James
Dennis P Brown

Re: Bad arc in transformer

Post by Dennis P Brown »

I buy a chinese diode that handles 20 kV and is claimed to handle 1 amp; however, I never push it pass 200 ma (and that is a spike only, steady load is under 40 ma) and use two in series for my 30 kV x-former per diode leg. The key for me is getting lowest reasonable cost but then being careful to run it well below its claimed values.

So very sorry about your x-former. Its possible the diode killed the x-former by failing first; thus creating a runaway current that killed the x-former, maybe?
James Henry

Post by James Henry »

Dennis
I am set up the same way. I was using 20kv, 2amp Diodes, two in series for each leg. Not sure what happened, could be what you said.
Anyways i will start out with a fresh transformer and go from there.
Thank You
James
Dennis P Brown

Post by Dennis P Brown »

Not trying to be insulting but your variac and transformer were each protected by separate fuse systems? When my diodes went, the x-former fuse went but not the variac's.
Alex Aitken

Post by Alex Aitken »