Torsten from Kronberg in Germany

Please take a moment to introduce yourself in this forum and tell us about your interest. You must use your full real name. We do not allow the used of "handles" and pseudonyms on this site.
Torsten Pieper

Torsten from Kronberg in Germany

Post by Torsten Pieper »

Good evening everyone!
It's really fascinating how so many people from all over the world come together for research! Long live the internet! ;)
I myself am from Germany, more precisely: from Kronberg im Taunus near Frankfurt am Main.
I am an engineer and work in the development and automation department in a large company. My specialty is image processing, sensors and laser technology. My degree was Engineer for Applied Physics.
So ultimately more practical application than physical basic research. There was a great lack of higher mathematics. Sadly I have to say..
Especially higher physics and mathematics was always my passion!
But luckily now I can do both.. I hope that this is a good basis for my newest interests. Since I've been hearing more and more news from the fusion sector, my interest has increased so much that I first read up on plasma physics and then stumbled across the fusor approach.
I don't have any equipment to build anything yet. But I was already able to do some calculations and thus narrow down why fusors work at all and what is necessary to build them. It's not that much.. To give deuterons an equivalent temperature of 150 million degrees, just 12.9 kilovolts are needed.
Basically ridiculously little.
The problem is effectiveness. So the grid of the inner pole is in the way and certain contamination due to metal evaporation, for example. That's why I'm considering alternatives and already have some ideas. I'll put that up for discussion if you're interested. Bye for now!
Bye! Torsten
Dennis P Brown

Re: Torsten from Kronberg in Germany

Post by Dennis P Brown »