Demo Fusor close to first light

For posts specifically relating to fusor design, construction, and operation.
Larry Upjohn

Demo Fusor close to first light

Post by Larry Upjohn » Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:07 pm

Hi all;
just to assure everyone that I am not a transient lurker I am forwarding in the next posting several photo's of my first demo fusor effort. I am within hours of applying vacuum and power. This is my first attempt and my time is limited so I have taken almost a year to get this far. As per an earlier request I will place my photos in a second entry on this thread. More later, Larry Upjohn.
Larry Upjohn

Larry Upjohn

Re: Demo Fusor close to first light

Post by Larry Upjohn » Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:29 pm

Here are the photo's to document my progress. I am using a new Ford Model A sparkplug for my feedthrough at this stage and a 7500 Volt 60ma old NST wired per Richard's "The Farnsworth/Hirsh Fusor" paper found elsewhere in the Files section for my high voltage supply. Inner Grid is SS 3XX welding wire ( 0.030 inch?) and the outer grid is 2-0 guage copper ground wire. Base plate is a found piece of 7/8" 6061 aluminum and "bell Jar" is the 1/2 gallon fish bowl from Walmart (It is Anchor-Hocking made in USA glass no less) Will have pictures of first plasma shortly. Image 1 is the closeup of the innergrid and feedthrough, outer grid and has a flash reflection which I will learn to get rid of later. Image 2 is a more complete fusor photo sitting on my drill press table ( sorry for the visual clutter, again which will be reduced when operational).
Image 3 is a side on shot of my nearly complete HVDC power supply showing the NST and a home made HV capacitor filter somewhere around 0.5 mfd at 20KV. More later, Larry Upjohn.
Attachments
IMG_0304.JPG
IMG_0304.JPG (484.97 KiB) Viewed 1644 times
IMG_0302.JPG
IMG_0302.JPG (491.11 KiB) Viewed 1644 times
IMG_0299.JPG
IMG_0299.JPG (466.5 KiB) Viewed 1644 times
Larry Upjohn

Chris Bradley