Construction Questions

For posts specifically relating to fusor design, construction, and operation.
typhax

Construction Questions

Post by typhax »

Hello,

Im new to this whole thing so these questions may seem silly. I have tried to find out the answers by reading various posts but if someone could clarify that would be fantastic.

Also these questions relate to obtaining (eventually) actual fusion rather than a demo one.

Does the chamber have to be a stainless steel sphere?
- I have seen on here someone using a pressure cooker? But is that just plasma thats being produced or is it actual fusion?

Whats the best metal to make the grid from?

Whats the theory behind inserting the D2O?
i.e. Is a vacuum created,the pump turned off, then the vacuum filled with D2O? or is the pump always on etc (that may sound stupid but i really am unsure)

Is the chamber at a netural charge? or is it positively charged?

Im really sorry about how silly some of these questions will be, but it would help me get a better grasp of the whole thing if you could answer.

Thanks,

Jason
MarkS

Re: Construction Questions

Post by MarkS »

Fusion has mostly been done in stainless steel vessels, though some have used copper, glass (with electron beam shielding), and I believe someone has used an aluminum chamber as well.

Grids must be constructed from a conductive metal which can handle lots of heat. Many people use steel welding wire, tungsten, and some demo models use copper. Most common metals can be used at a grid.