Has anybody tried replacing the grid with a target?

For posts specifically relating to fusor design, construction, and operation.
NateTG

Has anybody tried replacing the grid with a target?

Post by NateTG »

Since I am a noob, I figured I'd ask. Has anybody tried running a fusor with a block of Lithium (or some other fusile material) instead of a grid, or coated the grid with a fusile material?
3l

Re: Has anybody tried replacing the grid with a target?

Post by 3l »

Hi:

Its being worked on.
Frank Sanns
Site Admin

Post by Frank Sanns »

About a year ago, I electroplated a stainless steel inner grid with palladium. I loaded it up with deuterium prior to a run. I saw no difference and now it is obvious that the the losses of the fusor are hundreds (thousands) of times greater than the deuterons that strike the grids.

Lithium deuteride is a good choice for target material but then the fusor becomes a simple collider. Also, lithium deuteride reacts instantly with moisture in the air so there is no easy way with a fusor setups to have a fresh surface of lithium available for targeting. Just waiting for the fusor to pump down, the surface would be changed. You would just be hitting the hydroxide surface and never get to the lithium.

Frank S.
Achiever's madness; when enough is still not enough. ---FS
We have to stop looking at the world through our physical eyes. The universe is NOT what we see. It is the quantum world that is real. The rest is just an electron illusion. ---FS
Richard Hull

Post by Richard Hull »

Again, a target that is perfectly deuterated and deuteron bombarded in a fusor type chamber is just a simple spheriac accelerator. Ho-hum....

Inorder to equal the fusion you get in a 30kev simple fusor- collider it would demand an input voltage of nearly 100kev as a spheriac. All the real amateur fusion advantages of the fusor are thrown out the window in a target system.

Richard Hull