How economical is our energy?

Reflections on fusion history, current events, and predictions for the 'fusion powered future.
Richard Hull

How economical is our energy?

Post by Richard Hull »

As an engineer, I have a certain amount of bean counter pumped into me as a reality check for project assembly and testing.

How cheap is it? Will it be profitable?

Energy is obviously profitable from a simple economic standpoint; source to user, or there would be no business of energy. profit for each guy handling any product is the order of the day.

How many hands take money on the oil to gas route into in your tank?

There is the owner of the well selling and pumping the crude..... There is the company hauling the crude from the well head to the storage facility at the sea...... The storage facility for holding it in their tanks and ultimately pumping into the ship....... The shipping company for the ocean voyage....... The storage facility that the ship is emptied into..... The hauler to the refinery.... the refinery itself for fractionating the oil into numerous products, only one of which is gasoline to which they ultimately insert additional chemical additives.....The hauler of the gas to the city of distribution.....The mass storage distrubutor within the city.....The hauler to the service stations and the service station owner/pumper. We must not forget the government federal, state and local collectors of taxes at the pump.

Lots and lots of hands out-stretched for your money at each tiny step. How the hell did we ever get the stuff for 30 cents a gallon?!!! How do we currently get it for under $2.00 per gallon when pint bottles of water in the cooler case at the gas station are sold at over $6.00/gallon? Amazing!! You bet.

Now have you ever considered the joule energy output of the delivered energy product versus the joule energy spent in getting it to the user. This is where it gets whacky. I will state that I personally have no idea where this is up front.