Fusor Update - Liam David

Current images of fusor efforts, components, etc. Try to continuously update from your name, a current photo using edit function. Title post with your name once only. Change image and text as needed. See first posting for details.
Liam David

Fusor Update - Liam David

Post by Liam David » Sat Jul 25, 2020 12:50 am

I've been working steadily on my fusor for the past several months and have a few noteworthy updates to share.

DAQ / Control System
I made a new control box that has hardwired connections for voltage, current, and MFC deuterium flow. The signals are passed through 100ft of 15-core, stranded, shielded wire running alongside a fiber optic cable. Fiber to ethernet converters on either end connect to a computer and an Arduino Ethernet shield to allow for data collection. The Arduino drives four ADS1115 16-bit ADC modules that monitor pressure and neutron production rate, and soon will also measure deuterium flow, and several other variables. My Spellman power supplies are also connected over ethernet for voltage and current monitoring. Values are periodically sent through the fiber and a custom Matlab GUI parses, displays, and saves the values. There are still several bugs to work out, most notably that the Arduino is EMI-sensitive. I also replaced the needle valve with a 15sccm MFC which gives superior (and remote!) pressure control with the turbo throttled. The voltage, current, and deuterium flow are hard-wire-controlled through the cable and a control box. I can now comfortably sit up to 100ft away from the device, should I desire.

GUI 3 July 20 2020.png
Version 3 of the data acquisition system

IMG_20200516_121009.jpg
Don't look, it's pretty ugly...

IMG_20191020_121923.jpg
15-conductor and fiber umbilical cable, 100ft

IMG_20200516_120845.jpg
MFC

IMG_20200724_172717.jpg
Control box

Power Supply