HV plasma Christmas decorations

Current images of fusor efforts, components, etc. Try to continuously update from your name, a current photo using edit function. Title post with your name once only. Change image and text as needed. See first posting for details.
Rich Feldman

HV plasma Christmas decorations

Post by Rich Feldman »

During the lost weeks I posted a preliminary report about luminous octahedrons made from T5 fluorescent lamps. The tubes were overhead at work until replaced with LED's in 2018. I am still learning things about off-label uses.

Among the Platonic solids, octahedron is unique in having an even number of edges at each vertex. That's electrically and mechanically convenient.
Here's the first "small" octahedron.
DSCN2041.JPG
Hubs are made from black poly tubing that, by "serendipity of fit", pushes nicely onto the T5 lamp ends. It held up for a few days outdoors in rain and cold. A retired string of miniature lights provided wire designed for connecting lamps in series with ultra low cost connectors.
DSCN2046.JPG
Hanging from a tree in my front yard, next to a fake neon (white LED) star, the octahedron was too bright with 30 mA from a NST.
Dialed down to about 10 mA, with Variac upstream of the NST, it looked good the next couple of nights.
DSCN2059.JPG
I expected that low-current operation in frosty cold weather would be hard on the cathodes. In normal service they are kept hot by 170 mA discharge current.
Didn't expect a failure after less than 24 operating hours, but at the beginning of fourth evening session the ornament didn't light.

Cranking up the variac, HV arcs appeared in unintended places. Back indoors, individual lamp tests found one (#4) that wouldn't strike. It also has open filaments on both ends. Many other lamps lit with normal-ish voltage (typically 0.15 or 0.16 kV indicated, range 0.12 to 0.22) but had a pink color at one end, and spot checking found some open filaments. More details to follow.