New High Vacuum Equipment

Current images of fusor efforts, components, etc. Try to continuously update from your name, a current photo using edit function. Title post with your name once only. Change image and text as needed. See first posting for details.
Michael Bretti

New High Vacuum Equipment

Post by Michael Bretti »

Just wanted to share some pictures of my newly acquired high vacuum equipment that I have recently obtained. As mentioned in a couple of prior posts, I will be working on constructing a rather large, multi-purpose high vacuum system to accommodate a wide range of experiments, ranging from fusor applications, to ion beams, electron beams, and general plasma physics.

My first piece of equipment is the center of my system design, consisting of a large custom welded stainless steel vacuum chamber I found off ebay. I had been scouring ebay for a few years looking for chambers, and I couldn't pass this beauty up. The chamber has an internal bore of 8" and a total height of 28". It has 21 conflat ports of the following sizes: (x2) 10", (x1) 8", (x2) 6", (x5) 4.5", (x9) 2.75", and (x2) 1.33" ports. Only $250 on ebay, and all the knife edges are in excellent condition, with only scratches on the bottom input port, and a little bit of rust here and there and some dust inside. It is on the heavy side, weighing in at 100lbs, so mounting and moving this thing is gonna be a real pain. Earlier this week I went in with a toothbrush and some baking soda and scrubbed out the minor rust spots, gave it several washes with mildly soapy water, a thorough wipe down with mineral spirits, and further washing and drying to remove any residue left, and have it currently sealed up with aluminum foil over the ports (the pictures below are prior to cleaning and sealing up). Since it will be quite a while before I start piecing it together and pulling vacuum, I will be placing a large bucket of desiccant inside the chamber with all the ports closed up to keep moisture down t