Page 2 of 3

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:33 pm
by DaveC
Daniel -


Your English is much better than my German, that's certain.

Hope you can get your unit operating... Mine is an old 8100 and is "cranky", when unused for a while... almost always, board-edge contacts. So perhaps pulling everything out, carefully, cleaning the contacts (be sure to be grounded for the ESD protection) and re-inserting everything, will help.

Dave Cooper

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:44 pm
by dario_tortato
richnormand wrote:I have (somewhat poor but usable) scans in pdf of the service manual for the series 30 if you are interested.
Hi, if possible, send me a pdf copy of this service manual. I've one Canberra series 30 in repair. Many tanks for all!!
Dario

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:20 pm
by richnormand
Hi Dario,

just saw your post today. I'll retrieve the pdf and put it here.
EDIT: Just tried and got the "file is too big" message.
:-(

Can you send me another email address that would accept about 7Meg of attachments?
You can PM me the info on fusor mail.

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:32 am
by richnormand
Just sent you the pdf via your email.
Let me know if you dont get it OK.
Cheers.

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:56 pm
by dario_tortato
Hi Richard,
Update: on my unit, power supply ok but no video. I checked and there is a problem in the transistor that drives the high voltage transformer (Q414).
I tried to replace it with another PNP that I had (MJ2955). Now picture appears but not sharp and not fill the screen. Of the transistor, fixed laterally there is another equal, with only junction BC connected on junction CE of the first (but on the scheme only one transistor is indicated). The original transistors have only the inscription "91278" and do not know what they match. Do you have any idea?
20170204_154043.jpg

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 8:25 pm
by richnormand
Looks like you do have video but the hv drive of your module looks like it is off and out of focus (difficult to say on the photo).

I'll look in mine to find out what transistor actually is.

I did change Q310 (vertical) on mine but your Q414 is in charge of the horz deflection as well as driving the flyback for the HV. That would also affect focus, linearity and sweep width. Looks like getting proper gain and ce current matters here. Aslo worth looking at CR406, C438 CR103 and CR104 while you are in there. In particular if CR406 is open Q414 will have a difficult life! Check for the 100V at C440.

Remember that horz and vert sweep is at 90 degrees on this. The deflection yoke is installed 90deg from what would be expected in a regular television. Each up/down sweep is one of the 512 channel (that is why you have to go to magnify to see all of the 1024).Thus the "horz" sweeps from top to bottom here. From that point of view then your horz and vert widths are off also. That would be the "vertical" circuit. Do you get a response from the focus adjustment? A problem common to both deflections could be two separate issues or a common issue like power supply. Are the 12V and 30V supplies OK?

Monitor unit is from Elston Electronics Corp. Phelps N.Y. 14532, model DMIO-09B0-119-A39. Check to see if it is the same as in the schematics. They could have different suppliers for this generic module.

Best of luck with it. If you get really stuck I could open my unit and take some voltage measurements and scope waveforms for you.


for reference here are some photos when I power mine.
3) with top indications (seem you have those) and the lines at area of interest . You clear those with the "ROI Clear" below the CRT.
2) The dots are random garbage in the memory. You clear those with the "Clear data" on the main panel.
1) You are then left with the top and bottom lines, initial channel on left and numeric data on top.

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:52 pm
by richnormand
Too late to edit my previous post:
"I'll look in mine to find out what transistor actually is."
Looks like the same number but difficult to actually read. No clear reference on Google either.

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:46 am
by John Futter
could be a fast power darlington

you need a good one to measure

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 2:21 pm
by dario_tortato
Further work: I replaced a pair of trimmers and some capacitors. Now the image is in place, however, there is another problem .... the image, as time goes by, begins to have a flicker (especially visible in character, a kind of ripple) which becomes more and more visible.
IMG_3557.JPG
IMG_3558.JPG
IMG_3559.JPG
Dario

Re: Problem with Canberra Series 30

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:54 am
by dario_tortato
This is the link for video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFi9G9N ... e=youtu.be
the quality is bad, but you see the problem.
I also tried to cool the various components to see if the problem is due to something that works badly or has problems, but nothing changes.

Dario