concepts-easy.......application tough.....repair near impossible.

This area is for discussions involving any fusion related radiation metrology issues. Neutrons are the key signature of fusion, but other radiations are of interest to the amateur fusioneer as well.
Richard Hull

concepts-easy.......application tough.....repair near impossible.

Post by Richard Hull »

This is a post related to nuclear instrumentation concepts aplication and, ultimately, repair.

Over the July 4th holidays, I did a lot of Gamma spectometry with my canberra 8001. Ultimately, and to my horror, a large chunk of the spectrum disappeared from the 0 kev point out to 117 kev. I had to stop everything and take the lid off the beast and pour over the prints schematics and block diagrams to effect repair.

Having been an electronics engineer by profession for the past 35 years and an electronic tinkerer for almost 48 years, I looked at this as just another repair.

Opening the leviathon showed it to be 100% TTL/linear opamp based (1970's technology. There were several monster circuit boards and thousands of components. This was a frightening thing after all these years of de-training in board swapping and single 100 pin chip replacements. I grabbed hold of myself and realized I was back at a point when I was a junior engineer in the pits with the technicians back in the 70s.