Linear accelerator high voltage Ion source - floating ground issue

For the design and construction details of ion guns, necessary for more advanced designs and lower vacuums.
Dennis P Brown

Linear accelerator high voltage Ion source - floating ground issue

Post by Dennis P Brown » Sun May 27, 2012 7:43 pm

Well, I learned a few things (finally) about a Villard voltage multiplier - first time I ever had a real one to play with and modify. The diagrams I studied on Villard VM's all show a supply source that oscillates (like the one this unit has) and that one side of the MV unit - the anode - is grounded.

Aside – I am finally starting to understand how these units are used for fusars and other high voltage systems – especially playing with the charged circuits (and very safe circuits so the ouch factor is the only concern …strange but the hands on did orders more for my understanding these units than numerous attempts to study these things on line or from a book .)

The first thing I discovered was that grounding my anode of the Villard VM shorts my small battery operated driver circuit causing a shut down. Stranger still, the unit was often arching along a Plexiglas plate it was sitting upon - ten centimeters arches along clean plastic! (max volt is 15 keV.) This didn't make any sense - worse, while powered, it would back feed into my small power supply and arch across various parts to the metal case Now I think that this last part makes sense due to the lack of an anode ground for the VM. I believe that diode leakage for RMS voltages works both ways ... .)

What also shocked me - literally! - was discovering that the high voltage from the VM leaked back through the 13 volt battery lines. The high voltage lines were far away and would have had to travel through the case which I guess it did - experimental experience in action. I also discovered that after grounding all VM points and the supply two and even three times, I still got shocked a number of times ... .