Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.56MA

This forum is for specialized infomation important to the construction and safe operation of the high voltage electrical supplies and related circuitry needed for fusor operation.
User avatar
Richard Hull
Moderator
Posts: 11961
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 1:44 pm
Real name: Richard Hull

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Richard Hull » Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:52 am

William and others....Please stop quoting the post just above the one you are responding to. It is really rather stupid. We have gone over that many times before, here. It is naturally assumed that we can all read and have read the preceding post. Try just simply replying in future. You will find we have a higher order of folks here who do not need, nor desire, to read the same thing twice over and over again.

Richard Hull
Progress may have been a good thing once, but it just went on too long. - Yogi Berra
Fusion is the energy of the future....and it always will be
Retired now...Doing only what I want and not what I should...every day is a saturday.

User avatar
Jim Kovalchick
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:00 am
Real name:

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Jim Kovalchick » Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:20 pm

FYI - Mine was DOA out of the box. I took off the top panel and found the line in fuses are missing. I'm starting to worry these are repair shop scrap. Once I get some fuses I guess I'll know for sure.

User avatar
Liam David
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:30 pm
Real name: Liam David
Location: Arizona

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Liam David » Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:45 pm

One of mine was also DOA, even though I can hear a humming noise emanating from somewhere. I checked both input fuses and they were fine, and power was going to the board, but nothing. The one that works came on immediately; the Ethernet connector blinked a few times, the fan came on, and the power indicator lit up. There are no obvious burnouts or discolorations on the top board, and the DOA one was pretty clean inside.
Last edited by Liam David on Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Andrew Seltzman
Posts: 748
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:02 am
Real name: Andrew Seltzman
Contact:

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Andrew Seltzman » Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:07 pm

Both mine were Ok and tested good with the 5kv ramp(haven't done a full voltage/power test yet), although one is very dusty inside and both have some dents in the case. I found a broken piece of a 0.05ohm shunt resistor in one of mine, though it's apparently not from my supply, it must have gotten in through the fan grate.

Everyone check your supplies for operation, remember there is a right of return on these supplies if they don't work.

For those with DOA supplies, what problems are they having?

For those with good supplies, please test them(with the matlab program if possible) and report in.
Andrew Seltzman
www.rtftechnologies.org

Dan Knapp
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:34 pm
Real name: Dan Knapp

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Dan Knapp » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:22 pm

I haven't received mine yet but will test it on arrival.
Andrew, could you give us a little more information on using your Matlab driver. I've never used Matlab to drive an instrument, have only used it for computational applications. I assume your driver has to run under Matlab, correct?
Do you need to do anything with port setup before running, or does the driver code take care of that? Any further advice would be appreciated.

Sihao Huang
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:14 pm
Real name: Sihao Huang

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Sihao Huang » Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:04 pm

One of my units was DOA.
No visible component damage. Fan does not spin when powered on (no lights either).
I swapped the power conditioning/fuse section with my other known good supply. Powered it on and arced (high current)+ smoked on mid-section (between heat sinks and DSP). Opened the unit and could not identify the failure.
Going to get new fuses and test the other unit.

To others who have units which are broken: did you contact the seller yet and what was the reply?

Jerry Biehler
Posts: 883
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:08 am
Real name:
Location: Beaverton, OR

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Jerry Biehler » Sun Nov 20, 2016 1:43 am

FWIW, never swap parts between a power supply that works and one that does not. You have a very high probability of ending up with two power supplies that don't work.

Sarvesh Sadana
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:55 am
Real name: Sarvesh Sadana
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Sarvesh Sadana » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:33 am

The one I purchased seems to work. When plugged in, the fan turned on, the Ethernet light blinked a few times, and the power status light turned on.

The inside didn't seem to be very dusty, but I cleaned it to make sure.

I don't have the cables necessary to do the 5kv ramp as of now.

Would Ethernet patch cables and a USB type A to B suffice in controlling it? Or are the RS232 and jumpers necessary for operation?

Andrew Seltzman
Posts: 748
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:02 am
Real name: Andrew Seltzman
Contact:

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Andrew Seltzman » Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:23 am

I haven't looked into controlling it over USB

You will need to install an interlock jumper(jumper pins 11-12 on the 15 pin connector) to enable the HV. You will not need a HV cable installed to do the 5kV ramp test(you will require it at higher voltage since the connector is not rated to the full voltage unless mated to the proper HV connector; without it it will probably arc to the case).

I was testing mine with it plugged into am Ethernet switch common to my computer, I have not tested it with a direct connection to the computer. The matlab test program requires an ethernet connection to the supply to control/monitor it.

Here is a newer version of the matlab control program with better comments, it should run as configured and produce a 5kV ramp
DXM_control2.zip
(2.22 KiB) Downloaded 161 times
This has to be run in matlab, but should work as configured. Matlab will handle connecting to the supply as well as HV control and monitoring.
More info on the TCP commands can be found in the manual starting on page 63 of the PDF
http://www.spellmanhv.com/-/media/Files ... DXMMAN.pdf

When run as provided it should produce the following plot
supply-test.jpg
the red overvoltage light should turn on at 10s when the kV_set is turned to 0 and the program should have output something like this to the terminal:

Spellman DXM Control
HV On Hours= 21,93.1,
Status= 22,0,0,1,1,
DSP Version= 23,SWM0113-008,
Hardware Version= 24,L05,
Webserver Version= 25,SWM0030-003,
Model Number= 26,X3547,Q-003,
Network Settings= 50,DXM70N600X3547,192.168.1.4,50001,255.0.0.0,00:40:9D:2F:10:27,
Interlock Status= 55,0,
Faults= 68,0,0,1,0,0,0,

Prog kV Set= 10,$,
Prog mA Set= 11,$,
Prog Fil Lim Set= 12,$,
Prog Fil Preheat Set= 13,$,
Req kV Set= 14,0,
Req mA Set= 15,0,
Req Fil Lim Set= 16,0,
Req Fil Preheat Set= 17,0,
Req Analog Mon= 19,0,0,0,
Req kV Mon= 60,0,
Req mA Mon= 61,0,
Req Fil Feedback= 62,0,
Req -15V LVPS= 65,1673,
Local/Remote= 99,$,
HV On/Off= 98,$,

Data Run
Local/Remote= 99,$,
HV On/Off= 98,$,
Prog mA Set= 11,$,
Time= 0.021608 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.453
Time= 0.9284 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.9487
Time= 1.3931 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.9487
Time= 1.8092 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.9487
Time= 2.1963 kV_set= 2.1963 kV_mon= 2.0513
Time= 2.6578 kV_set= 2.6578 kV_mon= 2.2906
Time= 3 kV_set= 3 kV_mon= 2.8034
Time= 3.3467 kV_set= 3.3467 kV_mon= 3.0085
Time= 3.6817 kV_set= 3.6817 kV_mon= 3.4188
Time= 4.0219 kV_set= 4.0219 kV_mon= 3.8974
Time= 4.3578 kV_set= 4.3578 kV_mon= 4.0342
Time= 4.6878 kV_set= 4.6878 kV_mon= 4.4274
Time= 5.0189 kV_set= 4.9811 kV_mon= 4.8547
Time= 5.3558 kV_set= 4.6442 kV_mon= 4.8376
Time= 5.6889 kV_set= 4.3111 kV_mon= 4.3761
Time= 6.0268 kV_set= 3.9732 kV_mon= 3.9658
Time= 6.3585 kV_set= 3.6415 kV_mon= 3.8291
Time= 6.6978 kV_set= 3.3022 kV_mon= 3.4359
Time= 7.0307 kV_set= 2.9693 kV_mon= 3.2308
Time= 7.3698 kV_set= 2.6302 kV_mon= 2.8376
Time= 7.7058 kV_set= 2.2942 kV_mon= 2.4615
Time= 8.0379 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 2.188
Time= 8.3685 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.8632
Time= 8.6968 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.9487
Time= 9.0365 kV_set= 2 kV_mon= 1.9487
Time= 10.1553 kV_set= 0 kV_mon= 1.9145
Time= 10.4953 kV_set= 0 kV_mon= 1.5385
Time= 10.8303 kV_set= 0 kV_mon= 1.2479
Time= 11.1702 kV_set= 0 kV_mon= 1.0256
Time= 11.5091 kV_set= 0 kV_mon= 0.83761
Time= 11.8457 kV_set= 0 kV_mon= 0.66667
Prog kV Set= 10,$,
Prog mA Set= 11,$,
Req kV Set= 14,0,
Req mA Set= 15,0,
Local/Remote= 99,$,
HV On/Off= 98,$,
Andrew Seltzman
www.rtftechnologies.org

Sarvesh Sadana
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:55 am
Real name: Sarvesh Sadana
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: Spellman DXM70N600X3547 power supplies on ebay -70kV 8.5

Post by Sarvesh Sadana » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:11 am

Ah, darn. According to the manual:
The Ethernet interface has the following attributes:
...
Supported Operating Systems: Windows 98 2ED, Windows 2000 (SP2), Windows NT (SP6), Windows XP Professional
Have you found that to be the case? I have a mac, so it has neither the Ethernet port, nor the correct operating system.

Also, would you mind posting a picture of your setup?

Post Reply