Why do you need a diffusion pump?

Every fusor and fusion system seems to need a vacuum. This area is for detailed discussion of vacuum systems, materials, gauging, etc. related to fusor or fusion research.
brennanriddell

Why do you need a diffusion pump?

Post by brennanriddell »

I am new to the whole fusion scene, but have gathered some information. From what I've read, it appears that a vacuum of 75 microns or lower is required. If I had a mechanical pump, such as this FJC pump ( http://www.amazon.com/FJC-6912-Vacuum-P ... GX8N2SF9XM ), then why would I need the diffusion pump?

Also, being a high school student, I don't have that much money to fuse with. When it comes to vacuum chambers, what do I really need to handle that pressure? I have access to machine shops that could/will TIG weld whatever flanges and feedthroughs I need onto the chamber, I just need to know what the cheapest chamber I could use that is safe.

Best regards,

-Brennan
Richard Hull

Re: Why do you need a diffusion pump?

Post by Richard Hull »

A vacuum of 75 microns or lower.......50 microns is a better minimum...........this is demanded for even starting a diffusion pump. The diffusion pump or a far more expensive turbo-molecular pump is demanded to do fusion!

A general rule..........Your mechanical (forepump) should pull a vacuum below 30 microns below 20 is better. The diffusion or turbo pump should take you to about .01 microns (10e-5 torr). We don't talk fractional microns, but go to exponential torr pressures under 1 micron.

I can't understand where you got the idea that 75 microns is a good fusor vacuum 10e-4 to 10e-5 torr is a good fusor base line fusion vacuum prior to introducing deuterium.

Richard Hull
Progress may have been a good thing once, but it just went on too long. - Yogi Berra
Fusion is the energy of the future....and it always will be
The more complex the idea put forward by the poor amateur, the more likely it will never see embodiment
brennanriddell