LCD Vacuum Sensor

Every fusor and fusion system seems to need a vacuum. This area is for detailed discussion of vacuum systems, materials, gauging, etc. related to fusor or fusion research.
Nicolas Krause

LCD Vacuum Sensor

Post by Nicolas Krause »

To use my thermocouple vacuum gauge and to continue improving my embedded development skills I've been working on programming a TI Tiva C Launchpad via the MeCrisp Stellaris language to read a value from the vacuum gauge and then print the value to the screen. It's been slow going, as I'm new to Forth (MeCrisp Stellaris is a dialect of it), but tonight I finally was able to get the pins outputting SPI signals so that I can communicate with the LCD. In addition I figured it was better to break this off from my main thread and start this smaller one. I plan on documenting the development of the program, pcb and final product here.
IMG_1095[1].JPG
Richard Hull

Re: LCD Vacuum Sensor

Post by Richard Hull »

If I didn't have so many TC gauge meters and readouts with mating gauge tubes laying around the lab, I would make one up using the Arduino Mini-Pro and backlit I2C LCD readout. The TC gauge article in an older Bell Jar gave hard non-linear data points all along the pressure vs. voltage outputs from several different common gauge tubes. With a lookup table and interpolation math in the program such a project is very doable for any micro controller.

The BJ article should be on the BJ website.

Richard Hull
Progress may have been a good thing once, but it just went on too long. - Yogi Berra
Fusion is the energy of the future....and it always will be
The more complex the idea put forward by the poor amateur, the more likely it will never see embodiment
Nicolas Krause

Post by Nicolas Krause »