New to vacuum; questions about rebuilding a pumping station.

Every fusor and fusion system seems to need a vacuum. This area is for detailed discussion of vacuum systems, materials, gauging, etc. related to fusor or fusion research.
Mark Aren

New to vacuum; questions about rebuilding a pumping station.

Post by Mark Aren »

Hello all,

I am a retired electrical engineer and have recently been lucky enough to participate in the clear out of the chemistry department of a local university. Acquired equipment includes a Trivac D4A roughing pump, a Pfeiffer TPH-170 turbopump, TCP-120 + TCS-303 controller and a 1.6 litre stainless column 100mm dia x 200mm high. Also, a 531 controller + thermocouples, and a Varian 863 controller and 525 sensor.

The above claimed to be part of a complete working pumping station, but everything had to be disassembled for safe transportation. I am completely new to vacuum, and the last month has been spent slowly and cautiously working my way through this pile of gear, firstly to understand how it fits together, but more importantly avoiding advanced levels of stupidity which may damage any of it.

The roughing pump and thermocouple stuff seems quite robust, so were directly coupled, and managed to pull 1*10–2 Torr within a minute, indicating that all components are working to some extent. The D4A is specified with an ‘ultimate partial pressure’ of 3*10-4, but I have no idea what this latter phrase means, can someone please explain ‘ultimate partial pressure’ please ?

As the system is re-assembled, Dow Corning high vacuum grease is being used sparingly to coat all [cleaned] O-rings and associated centering rings. For a system sealed using O-rings, is there any significant difference in performance between Dow Corning high vacuum grease, and Apiezon ?

What is the highest vacuum that could normally be managed using a system using O-rings ?