Fusor reactor size question

It may be difficult to separate "theory" from "application," but let''s see if this helps facilitate the discussion.
Jacob Lord

Fusor reactor size question

Post by Jacob Lord »

Hello, before I start I would like to say that I am VERY new to fusion theory and have only started to read up about it in detail around about a month ago.

So here comes the question. I am working on some plans of building my own fusor as a long term school project but there has been this niggling question in the back of my head, does the size of the reactor chamber have a difference with the output and would charging the Deuterium before injection have any effect as well. With my reactor I was hoping to have it be run at the power level of around 100Kv (pretty big charge for a first project, but where would the fun be if it were easy), so in the case of this high powered reactor, would having a larger chamber be more beneficial to the rate of neutron reactions, say a 1mtr radius chamber than a 10cm radius chamber?

And the second question is for the fusion fuel. In the reactor i was going to use Deuterium, so I was wondering that if pre-charging the gas before being injected into the chamber would be beneficial as well.

It would be nice to hear your thoughts on this.
Tom McCarthy

Re: Fusor reactor size question

Post by Tom McCarthy »

Welcome to the forum Jacob.

In relation to your post, yes, chamber size will have an effect on your neutron emission as larger chambers can "support" higher voltages - as chamber size reduces you may reach a level where arcing can take place inside your chamber. Higher voltages have a direct effect on your fusion rates. Current and pressure also affect neutron rates.